Music videos now and then…

(Hey guys, sorry it’s been such a long time. Between the new job and the advent of something sort of resembling summer, I have been mad busy)

There’s been a great deal of talk about YouTube as the new MTV. I don’t spend nearly as much time on YouTube as I did watching MTV when they actually had music videos on, but then again I am also no longer a ten year old with no friends a lot of time to waste. However, this whole YouTube as new Music Network thing prompted me to investigate videos that are being made today, videos from bands I like (no “Single Ladies” here, although I do enjoy the “Single Gaydies”). I found that despite the new “internet” medium, videos are still kinda the same as they were in the 80s/90s–although not nearly as expensive as they once were (like Jacko’s “Scream”–dear god!).

For example Bat for Lashes’ “Pearl’s Dream”….

is quite similar to Kate Bush’s “The Sensual World”


Dramatic swaying, otherworldly fairy-tale setting, lady howling…Kate needs a pair of wings like Natasha though.

Going onto to Pitchfork video I found an Abe Vigoda that takes place on a hot desert road…

Smashing Pumpkins much?

Sadly Abe Vigoda has no young and androgynous James Iha…or wild fluorescent paint, or making out couple, or an ice cream truck, for that matter.

Onwards…

Now I didn’t even know that Crystal Stilts made a video, but they did–for Love is a Wave (released in UK and EU so far)

And although I really, really like Crystal Stilts (I’ve posted about them more than once), this video could have been made by a film student in the 70s. I guess that’s the aesthetic they were going for but The Smiths did the whole let’s not put the band in our video but use weird outdated footage video thing much better:

Panic! I remember seeing this on 120 Minutes in the very early 90s….yes!

There is one video recently that has been blogged/tweeted/talked about in real life that really does stand out and feels utterly original. It also scares the shit out of me! Oh and it’s for possibly the second best song of the year so far, too (second only to “My Girls” by Animal Collective).

“Two Weeks” by Grizzly Bear

Ed Drost, I do love you. And nice work director Patrick Daughters.

Oh yeah and here’s a shameless plug to my buddies O’death who have made a wonderful video for their song “Low Tide” starring violinst Bob Pycior, one of the raddest dudes in the world. Directed by Benjamin Zeitlin.

Leave a comment